Western Region’s Mbarara City Football Club completed the list of clubs that have been promoted sportingly to the Azam Uganda Premier League for the season 2017/18.

Mbarara City overcame Masaka side Synergy 2-1 in the promotional final played on Sunday at the Phillip Omondi Stadium, Lugogo in Kampala.

Towering striker Wol Makweth scored both Mbarara City’s goals as Solomon Okwalinga got the consolation for Synergy.
Mbarara City joined Masavu (Rwenzori group winners) and Maroons (Elgon winners) as the other successful clubs to the top tier league for the season 2017/18.

Maroons overcame Masavu 2-1 to be declared the 2016/17 FUFA Big league overall winner.

Masavu took the lead through Joseph Nkabirwa in the 19th minute. Maroons made amends when regular season top scorer Patrick Kaddu headed home the equalizer in the 42nd minute.

Solomon Walusimbi then volleyed home the winner three minutes later.

FUFA first Vice President Darius Mugoye was chief guest during the Big league climax. He presided over the official prize giving ceremony accompanied by FUFA Technical committee member Hamid Juma and Uganda Cranes head coach Milutin Sredejovic.

Now Maroons, Masavu and Mbarara City will play in the 2017/18 Azam Uganda Premier League.

Individual awards:

Most Valuable Player: Solomon Okwalinga (Synergy)

Top Scorer: Patrick Kaddu (Maroons) -16 goals

Fair Play award: Ndejje University

Coach of the year: Asaph Mwebaze (Maroons)

Best goalkeeper: Muhammed Ssekebba (Mbarara City)

Best Online journalist: David Isabirye (Kawowo Sports)

Best Radio journalist: Lawrence Bwanika (102.1 FUFA f.m)

Best Referee: Ali Kaddu