The Makerere University council has given the search committee up to July 2017 to complete the search for the Vice Chancellor.

Section 31 (4) of the Act stipulates that the Vice-Chancellor shall be appointed on terms and conditions determined by the University Council for five years and shall be eligible for re-appointment for one more term.

The current Vice Chancellor Prof. Ddumba Ssentamu assumed office in September 2012, taking over from Prof Venansious Baryamureeba.

During the 67th graduation ceremony, the Vice Chancellor Prof. John Ddumba Ssentamu thanked the University Chancellor for an opportunity to serve as the vice Chancellor.

His term in office expires on August 31st, but he is eligible to be appointed for another five-year term.

The full search committee comprising five members was constituted yesterday by the council chaired by Eng. Dr. Charles Wana Etyem. The committee is chaired by Irene Ovongi Odida with Dr. Betty Ezati, Dr. Frank Mwine, Prof. Joseph Mugisha and Bruce Balaba Kabaasa as members.